The Start of Something

Our story begins with Amelia Alphabet. When she was but a young Sim, she decided to venture out on her own and build her very own Legacy from the ground up. She bought herself a large plot of land in Del Sol Valley and made a promise to herself: she would build this empty space into a warm, loving home, where all of her future children — and children’s children’s children — would be able to live out their own dreams. For now, her list of goals consisted of, in no particular order: Find a job, find a husband (to carry on the legacy, of course), and find a way to earn money quick. You can call me the Chronicler. I have been tasked with, well, chronicling the lives of Amelia and all future generations. Say hello to the people, Amelia.

Amelia: Er, Chronicler, it looks like it’s already beginning to rain. Did you really have to choose Spring as the first season?

To be honest with you, Amelia, I suppose I didn’t really think that one through.

Anyway, life was tough in those early days. Amelia scraped together some extra Simoleons to buy an easel, figuring that she would be able to sell off paintings quickly enough to pay the bills and work on expansion.
Amelia: Not that I’ll be getting much painting done with all this rain.
Still, Amelia was determined, and knew that she would do what needed to be done to ensure she was successful. She felt relief when she entered the culinary career as an assistant dishwasher.

Amelia: Not a very luxurious start, but I guess I can’t really be picky at this point. I live on a plot of land with no roof over my head.

Don’t worry, Amelia… you’ll be a Celebrity Chef before you know.
Eventually, one of Amelia’s neighbors came over to introduce himself. Amelia couldn’t believe her luck! A male suitor making an appearance on her very first day? But alas, it turned out that he was already married. Since she didn’t know anyone and he seemed friendly enough, Amelia decided she would make the most of his offer of friendship. Thorne Bailey and his wife, Octavia Moon, would eventually become two of her best and closest friends.

Amelia: hey, that one looks like a llama, Thorne.
Thorne: looks more like an alpaca, I think.
As luck would have it, she did eventually meet a male suitor. By this time, she had earned enough money to build some walls. Mostly this was due to her annoyance at her refrigerator constantly breaking from the rain. She’d built herself a small bathroom and a small kitchen. Unfortunately, her bed was still outdoors and she hadn’t yet been able to afford an upgrade to a double bed. She and Johnny Zest weren’t able to do much more than kiss, but Amelia was more than okay with that — Johnny was a great kisser, after all, and she knew in her heart that he was The One. There would be plenty of time for WooHoo in the future.
In the meantime, Amelia hosted dinner parties to show her appreciation for all the new people she had met. Thorne and Octavia were kind enough to let her host them in their beautiful home.

Amelia: beautiful house you’ve got here. That kitchen is to die for. I would love to have one of my own some day, but would settle for a roof. -looks at Chronicler pointedly-

Hey, I’m working on it! I can’t exactly Motherlode it into existence , though, can I? Get those promotions faster, get your roof faster!

Amelia: This food sure smells good. -decidedly ignoring that last comment-

Turns out if I wanted a long, happy legacy, I was going to need to do something about Amelia’s admittedly valid complaints. With a roof over their head, a few walls, and a brand new double bed, it was time to work on the next generation.
Amelia and Johnny were both more than happy to put in the work to complete this particular goal. It took a few tries, but eventually they were successful…
Amelia and Johnny welcomed Britt Alphabet into the world the day before they were set to be married. Johnny had proposed on their front lawn and for Amelia, it couldn’t have been more perfect. She’d wanted to get married then and there, but Johnny insisted that they have a big wedding where they could celebrate with their friends. He had always been in awe of Amelia and he wanted her to be able to enjoy her special day. Amelia had agreed and became more and more excited as the day grew closer. When she looked at baby Britt’s beautiful face, she knew her legacy was in safe hands, and she looked forward to watching him grow and shape their family’s future.

Amelia Alphabet (Founder)
Traits: Creative, Perfectionist, Foodie
Aspiration: Master Chef

Author’s Note: Firstly, I would like to apologize for the lack of images for the first few generations. I’ve started so many legacies that never really got anywhere, so I really just wanted to see where this one took me. I didn’t intend to post an actual story along with it, but the further I got, the more I knew I wanted to. As such, it may take a while for things to really pick up, but I hope if you’re reading this, you’re in it for the long haul.

Next, I would like to say that any custom content you see throughout this legacy is not my own. If you see anything that you have created and would like me to include credit for, please reach out to me and I will make sure to give you the proper credit. A large majority of the CC I download is from TSR and I highly recommend checking them out if you’re looking for CC. If you see a specific piece and you’re wondering where I got it, please feel free to reach out to me and I’ll do my best to link it to you.

Finally, a little bit of information about this legacy. I decided on heirs of alternate genders, so since we started out with a female, the next heir will be a male. His daughter will become the generation 3 heir, her son will be the generation 4 heir, and so on. If you hadn’t figured by the name, this will be an Alphabet legacy, so we will run through the alphabet for all heirs and spares. I will not be using any mood or skill altering cheats, but I did install MC Command Center for story progression purposes and it was well worth it (you’ll see what I mean in future generations). I will list the traits and aspirations of relevant Sims throughout the story, but you can see the fully updated family tree on The Plum Tree. I started out using PinStar’s Legacy House Builds and followed most of the rules associated with that challenge. Right now, I am on generation 5, but obviously hope to continue further down the line. Thanks for reading and I’ll be updating soon!

Leave a comment